Bratislava food guide

13 décembre 2016 0 Comments

A few weeks after my stay in Ukraine, I went for a brief week-end in Bratislava, Slovakia. Thanks god, Slovakian food was almost as substantial as Ukrainian food. I was afraid to burn too fast the carbs & cholesterol stocks I hardly made in Kiev & Odessa, you know… – sarcasm, indeed -.

Anyway, I wanted to share in this Bratislava food guide some good spots I tried during this week-end, hoping to be helpful if you’re wondering what and where you should eat in Bratislava. As you can notice, I’ll start straight  with the food part…matter of priorities!

Bratislava weather was far to be perfect as you can see on the following pictures, but I swear this city is very nice. And if you experience this moody weather too, then you have at least a good excuse to stuff yourself with food for the whole trip.

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

 

Where you can eat typical Slovakian dishes

On our first day, we went to Prasná Basta for dinner. Many people agree it’s one of the best spots to eat typical Slovakian food in the capitale city. Prices were correct for very generous portions. Even though not so aesthetically appealing -well, I guess taking post pictures with my phone didn’t help -, the  Slovakian food we ate was pretty tasty. A must to try: the Bryndzové halušky s oravskou slaninou, which is a speciality made with potato gnocchis, creamy local sheep cheese & bacon. Yep,  the local food is very filling, I told you! You should definitely give a try to the chicken pancakes as well as the caramelised pears with goat cheese too. Just be prepare to roll on yourself when time to digest and move somewhere else will come.

Another address we went to is the 1. Slovak Pub, a typical pub that might not catch your attention from outside, but serves traditional & local food without flourish. The place is victim of its success though, so be prepared to wait for your dish if you go there for rush hours. The garlic soup is one of the must eat of this place, but please, just as a sign of respect for human beings, or at least for the person you’re gonna meet afterwards, don’t order this dish before a date.

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide: Prasná Basta Bratislava food guide: 1. Slovak pub Bratislava food guide: 1. Slovak pub

 

Fancy places for breakfast & brunch

Beyond local food spots, Bratislava is also full of nice places for brunch, even though some of them are tending to be very hipster. For a peaceful & classic breakfast, head to Enjoy Coffee. The service is as warm as the place, and prices pretty correct. For a brunch rather savoury, its neighbour Urban Bistro serves pretty good toasts and offers eggs in every shape & form. Avocado toasts & eggs are definitely considered as “mainstream” food for brunch nowadays – when I was mentioning “hipster” things… -, but the place is definitely worth a try for its amazing Jasmin & Matcha iced Latte, which is also sweet but not too much. Raw cakes & normal cakes taste also delicious.

20160611_091737 20160611_082050 20160611_102906_hdr 20160612_123155 20160612_132107 bratislave-food-guide

 

About sweet treats & local cakes

My “no-sugar” period only ended a few weeks before this week-end in Bratislava, but I still wanted to discover the “must-have” specialties of the area. Hashtag no limit, diet & sport can wait a few days more. One of the specialties you absolutely need to try in Slovakia, but also is Hungary, is called Trdelník. The dough of this cake is baked on a spit; then the cake is rolled into sugar, then spices as cinnamon & walnut crumbs, before to be served. You eat it warm by peeling it, and like for the other “healthy” local specialities, you’ll have to roll once you finished it.

Another baked treat you need to try in Bratislava is the Bratislavské rožteky, which is somehow considered as the Slovakian croissant & is even protected by an strict designation of origin, requiring very precise shape, colour & texture to fit into the criteria. The pastry is filled with a dough made with poppy seeds or walnuts. It’s tasty, filling and mega sweet.

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

 

The best ice-cream you’ve ever taste at Koun

This Bratislava Food Guide wouldn’t be a real Bratislava food guide without this place. Even though Berlin has a bunch of great ice-cream makes, the only regret I have is to not have this one in the city. Koun is a bit like the Mustafa’s Kebab of Bratislava, but for ice-creams. Even the size of the queue in front of the shop is the same, and is a but discouraging at summer rush hours I have to say, but the final result is 200% worth the 30 minutes queuing. Original tastes & heavenly creamy ice-creams!  I tried one scoop of peanut ice-cream with another one of matcha, both were way above my expectations. Prices are definitely more than correct, and the place is ranked among the podium of Soolnua world ice-cream index since a few years.

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

 

What to do in Bratislava, excepting eating?

Yep that’s right: the purpose of this Bratislava Food Guide is actually to talk about calories and good spots that will help you to know where to eat in Bratislava, but you still need to figure out what to do during digestion hours. Once you explored Bratislava streets & old town, it’s not hard to head to Bratislava castle from the city center. The view on the whole city is unbeatable, and you can go back to the center by feet, it’s going to be a very nice walk.

If you’re willing to go a tiny bit further in the countryside, take a bus and head to Devín castle. This medieval fortress overhangs Danube & Morava confluence and is actually one of the most important archeological sites in Slovakia. If you like peacefulness, no worries you will get some there, as there is not so much to see around the castle, excepting sheep and a few houses.

Many guided tours are also available in Bratislava. I’ve never been a fan of that kind of things – the one  dragging her feet after only 1h, while thinking about the next food stop…yeah this is me -, but it’s always a good occasion to discover the basics about the Slovakian capitale, and it only takes a few hours. Then you can go back to food topic after that :)

Bratislava food guideBratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

RELATED POST

LEAVE A COMMENT

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Secured By miniOrange

Bratislava Food Guide

· Mes bonnes adresses à Bratislava ·

13 décembre 2016 2 Comments

Quelques semaines après mon séjour en Ukraine, je suis partie passer un week-end à Bratislava en Slovaquie. Dieu merci, la nourriture slovaque était à peu près aussi consistante que la nourriture Ukrainienne, moi qui avais peur d’épuiser trop rapidement ma réserve de carbohydrates et de cholestérol durement bâtie à Kiev et Odessa.

Je voulais donc partager avec vous dans mon Bratislava Food Guide  quelques bonnes adresses que j’ai pu tester lors de ce week-end, en espérant vous aider à vous décider lorsque vous vous demanderez ou manger à Bratislava. Comme vous pouvez le constater, j’attaque maintenant directement la partie culinaire, parce que bon, chacun ses priorités.

La météo à Bratislava n’était pas au beau fixe lors de notre séjour – ne prenez pas peur en voyant la couleur du ciel sur les photos, je vous promets que c’est une ville très chouette! -, raison de plus pour s’en mettre plein la panse…

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

 

Où manger des plats typiquement Slovaques

Nous sommes allés manger à Prasná Basta le premier soir. De nombreuses personnes s’accordaient toutes sur le fait que ce restaurant typiquement Slovaque faisait partie des meilleures adresses de la capitale Slovaque. Les prix étaient corrects pour des portions vraiment copieuses. Bien que moyennement esthétique – le fait que je prenne les photos de cet article avec mon portable n’ont sans doute pas aidé -, la nourriture Slovaque que nous avons mangée était très bonne. Un must à tester: les Bryndzové halušky s oravskou slaninou, qui sont des gnocchis de pomme de terre accompagnés de fromage de brebis & bacon. Oui, j’avais mentionné que la nourriture locale était consistante…vous étiez prévenus! Les pancakes au poulet ainsi que les poire caramélisées au fromage de chèvre sont également à goûter. Entrainez-vous juste à rouler sur vous-même lorsque viendra le moment de digérer tout ça.

Une autre adresse que nous avons testée est le 1. Slovak Pub, un pub typique qui ne paye pas de mine de l’extérieur, mais sert de la nourriture locale traditionnelle et sans fioritures. L’endroit est cependant victime de son succès, préparez-vous à attendre longtemps votre plat si vous y allez pendant les heures de pointe. La soupe à l’ail est un des incontournables de l’endroit, par contre par respect pour l’humanité s’il vous plait, ou au moins pour la personne qui se retrouvera avec vous, ne la commandez pas si vous avez un rencard juste après.

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide: Prasná BastaBratislava food guide: 1. Slovak pub Bratislava food guide: 1. Slovak pub

Petit-déjeuner ou bruncher dans des endroits branchés

Au delà de la nourriture locale, Bratislava regorge également de bonnes adresses pour bruncher, qui tendraient même à être un poil hipster pour certaines. Pour un petit-déjeuner paisible et classique, optez pour Enjoy coffee. Le service y est aussi chaleureux que l’endroit en lui-même, et les prix corrects. Pour un brunch plutôt salé entre amis, son voisin Urban bistro sert de bons toasts et vous déclinera les oeufs sous toutes leurs formes. Bien que les avocado toasts ou les oeufs n’aient plus rien d’exceptionnel pour un brunch – quand je mentionnais « hipster »… -, l’endroit vaut vraiment le détour pour son Iced Latte matcha & jasmin qui est à tomber, sans être trop sucré. Les gâteaux, qu’ils soient raw ou non sont excellents également.

Bratislava food guide: Enjoy coffee Bratislava food guideBratislava food guideBratislava food guide: Urban bistro Bratislava food guide: Urban bistroBratislava food guide: Urban bistro

 

Découvrir les douceurs & gâteaux locaux

Bien que ma période sans-sucre se soit « achevée » peu de temps avant mon week-end à Bratislava, l’une des choses qu’il me tient vraiment à coeur lors de mes voyages est de tester absolument toutes les spécialités que je puisse trouver. La ligne et le sport attendront quelques jours. L’une des spécialités incontournables à manger en Slovaquie, mais aussi en Hongrie, est le Trdelník. La pâte du gâteau est cuite autour d’une broche; le gâteau est ensuite roulé dans du sucre, des épices ou encore des éclats de noix avant d’être servi. On le mange tiède en l’épluchant, et comme pour les autres spécialités « healthy » locales, on roule une fois qu’on l’a terminé.

Une autre pâtisserie à manger à Bratislava est le Bratislavské rožteky, considéré comme le croissant des Slovaques, et protégé par une appellation exigeant une forme, une couleur et texture, ainsi qu’un dosage des ingrédients très stricts. La spécialité est fourrée avec une pâte à base de graines de pavot ou de noix. C’est bon, ça cale, mais c’est méga sucré.

Bratislava food guide: Trdelník cake Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guide: Makovník

 

Goûter à la meilleure glace de votre vie chez Koun

Ce Bratislava food guide ne serait pas un vrai Bratislava food guide sans cette adresse. Bien que Berlin compte une poignée d’excellents glaciers, le seul regret que j’ai eu en goûtant une glace de chez Koun était de ne pas pouvoir ramener l’endroit avec moi à Berlin. Koun c’est un peu le Mustafa’s Kebab de Bratislava, en version glace. La taille de la file d’attente est assez décourageante en été, mais le résultat vaut largement les 30 minutes de queue. Goûts originaux et glaces crémeuses à souhait. J’ai goûté la glace à la cacahuètes et celle au matcha, les 2 étaient largement au dessus de mes espérances. Les prix sont corrects également, et l’endroit fait parti du podium au Soolnua world ice-cream index depuis plusieurs années.

20160611_171059 20160611_172109Bratislava food guide

 

Que faire à Bratislava, à part manger?

Bien que le but initial de ce Bratislava food guide soit de parler de parler calories et bonnes adresses pour que vous sachiez ou manger à Bratislava, il faudra bien vous occuper pendant l’heure de la digestion. Une fois que vous aurez arpentez les rues et découvert la vieille ville, le château de Bratislava est facile d’accès depuis le centre, par tram puis à pieds, et vous offrira une vue imprenable sur toute la ville. Vous pouvez redescendre dans le centre à pieds, ce qui vous fera une belle balade.

Si vous souhaitez vous éloigner du centre-ville, vous pouvez attraper un bus jusqu’au château de Devín. Cette forteresse majoritairement en ruine surplombe le confluent du Danube & de la Morava et représente l’un des plus importants lieux archéologiques en Slovaquie. Si vous aimez le calme vous en aurez, il n’y a pas grand chose dans les environs hormis la nature, des moutons et quelques habitations.

De nombreux tours sont également accessibles dans Bratislava. Bien que je n’ai jamais été fan des visites guidées – celle qui somnole en trainant les pieds après 1h et pense déjà au goûter, c’est moi… – c’est toujours l’occasion de découvrir l’essentiel à savoir sur la capitale Slovaque en quelques heures. Après vous pourrez retourner manger! :)

Bratislava food guide Bratislava food guideBratislava food guide Bratislava food guideBratislava food guide Bratislava food guideBratislava food guide Bratislava food guide

RELATED POST

2 Comments

  1. Répondre

    Rosenoisettes

    13 décembre 2016

    Ça m’a l’air d’être une ville superbe et vraiment gourmande !

    • Solène Roussel
      Répondre

      solene.r

      18 décembre 2016

      On en fait vite le tour – 2/3 jours sont suffisants – mais c’est une ville très chouette qui n’est pas encore pleine de touristes :)

LEAVE A COMMENT